Ilona Lundström appointed as the new Chair of the Board of Directors Metropolia

16.5.2024 - 14:15

The annual general meeting of Metropolia UAS Ltd elected Ilona Lundström, Doctor of Administrative Sciences (HT), as its new Chairperson at its meeting on 16 May 2024.

Ilona Lundström has almost 20 years of experience in government research and innovation policy. Lundström has worked at the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment as Head of Department in the Innovation and Business Finance Division. Prior to that, she worked at Tekes as Director and Head of Unit. Lundström brings in particular strong RDI expertise to the Board.

Henri Kuitunen has been the long-time chairman of the Metropolia Board of Directors, but Kuitunen announced in March 2024 that he would step down.

Composition of the Board of Directors from 16.5.2024 onwards:

  • Chairman of the Board, Ilona Lundström, Helsinki
  • Director of Business Development, Marja-Leena Rinkineva, Helsinki
  • Director of Education and Training, Satu Järvenkallas, Helsinki
  • Professor, Kalevi Ekman, Espoo
  • Director of Growth and Learning, Harri Rinta-aho, Espoo
  • Deputy Mayor, Katri Kalske, Vantaa
  • Director of Finance and Strategy, Matti Ruusula, Vantaa
  • Lecturer, Timo Junell, Metropolia staff representative
  • Metropolia student representative, Santeri Hietanen

The term of office of the Board of Directors will continue until the next Annual General Meeting.

More information:

Riitta Konkola
President, CEO